Edit your profile

Kaminska, Aleksandra

Assistant Professor

Contact:

  • Telephone 514-343-6111 #38776 Pav. PAVILLON MARIE-VICTORIN \ Ext. B417

Website
Website

Kaminska, Aleksandra

Presentation

I received my BSc and MA from the Media, Culture, and Communication (MCC) department at New York University, and my PhD (2013) in the joint programme in Communication and Culture from York University and Ryerson University in Toronto. I was then a postdoctoral researcher at Sensorium: Centre for Digital Arts and Technology at York University, and at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver for which I received a Mitacs Elevate fellowship. I have also worked in publishing, first with Continuum in New York (2001-2006), and then as the Managing Editor of the Canadian periodical PUBLIC: Art/Culture/Ideas (2010-2016). I joined the Department of Communication at the Université de Montréal as Assistant Professor in June 2016, where I also participate in the DESS (graduate certificate) in Art, Creation and Technology and co-direct the Artefact Lab.

My primary interests are the politics and aesthetics of media technologies as materials and infrastructures; the meeting points between cultural practices and technological innovation; and historical and theoretical perspectives that emerge from "marginal" media objects. Recurring through much of my research are also questions on the technologies and practices that mediate the identities of people, cultures, and things.

I am currently working on a media history of authentication and security printing (SSRHC Insight Development), and on technologies of recognition in the media arts (FRQSC New Academics). I also participate in a nation-wide partnership team working to “activate” Canadian moving image archives (SSHRC Partnership). An ongoing project is a research collaboration with artists and scientists that is at once a speculation on the possibilities of new nano-optical medium and a reflection on the nature of interdisciplinary work (www.nano-verses.com). My first book is Polish Media Art in an Expanded Field (Intellect/University of Chicago Press, 2016).

Areas of expertise

Courses given in the Department this term

Editer votre profil

Kaminska, Aleksandra

Professeure adjointe

Contact :

  • Téléphone 514-343-6111 #38776 Pav. PAVILLON MARIE-VICTORIN \ bur. B417

Site Web
Site Web

Kaminska, Aleksandra

Présentation

J'ai obtenu un baccalauréat et une maîtrise à New York University dans le département de media, culture et communication (MCC), puis un doctorat dans le programme conjoint en communication et culture à York University et Ryerson University à Toronto (Ph.D. 2013). J'ai ensuite effectué un stage postdoctoral à Sensorium: Centre for Digital Art and Technology à York University, ainsi qu’à Simon Fraser University à Vancouver pour lequel j'ai reçu une bourse postdoctorale Élévation de Mitacs. J'ai aussi travaillé dans le monde de l’édition, d’abord avec Continuum Publishing à New York (2001-2006) et ensuite comme directrice de rédaction de la revue canadienne PUBLIC: Art Culture Ideas (2010-2016). Je suis professeure adjointe au département de communication de l’Université de Montréal depuis juin 2016, où je participe au D.É.S.S. facultaire en Arts, création et technologies et je suis co-responsable du laboratoire de recherche Artefact Lab.

Mes centres d’intérêt s’articulent autour de considérations politiques et esthétiques des matérialités et infrastructures des technologies médiatiques ; des points de rencontres entre les pratiques culturelles et les innovations technologiques ; et des perspectives historiques et théoriques qui émergent à partir d’objets médiatiques « marginaux ». Sous-jacentes dans mes recherches sont souvent des questions sur les technologies et les pratiques de médiations d’identités, que ce soit de personnes, de cultures, ou de choses.

Parmi mes projets actuels, je travail sur une histoire médiatique de l’authentification et de l’impression de sécurité (CRSH Développment Savoir), ainsi que sur les technologie de reconnaissance dans les arts médiatiques (FRQSC Relève Professorale). Je participe aussi à une recherche en partenariat à l’échelle nationale qui cherche à « activer » les archives audiovisuelles canadiennes (CRSH Partenariat). Un autre projet en cours consiste d’une collaboration entre artistes et scientifiques qui à la fois imagine un nouveau médium nano-optique, et réfléchit à la nature de la recherche interdisciplinaire (www.nano-verses.com). Mon premier livre est Polish Media Art in an Expanded Field (Intellect/University of Chicago Press, 2016).

Champs d'expertise

Cours donnés au département ce trimestre